Dehydrating

Share your favorite food, the greasier the better. I love bacon!!!!! and also eggs.
DarenN

Dehydrating

Post by DarenN » Mon Apr 28, 2008 6:58 pm

Well; i finally did it, after years of thinking about it i finally bought a dehydrator yesterday. Nesco A/H FD75PR. got two extra trays and the jerky caulking gun as well.
this morning i put up 3 1/2 pounds of ground beef jerky. tomorrow i'm going to do some fish jerky with some fresh Sole fillets i picked up. over the course of this week i will be doing something new each day. i'm a total newbie to this so i expect some possible failures. i'll post pics and reports if anyones interested?

Daren.........
"I'd rather be happy than right." Slartibartfast

russb

Re: Dehydrating

Post by russb » Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:52 pm

a good book to get is Backpacker Gourmet by Linda Jaffe (sp?) It has recipes for meals to dehydrate and then take on the trail. I have only made a few of them and they are good. They also give me ideas to modify my own other recipes to make as dehydrated meals.

Skidsteer

Post by Skidsteer » Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:58 pm

I'm interested!

I'm a diehard dehydratin' fool. Kudos on the Nesco purchase; That's what I use and it's given good service.

One of my favorite things to do is take a leftover plate of whatever was for Supper and dry the whole thing as a backpacking meal.
Skids

Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
Albert Einstein, (attributed)

russb

Post by russb » Mon Apr 28, 2008 8:37 pm

Skids, I do the same. I often make a meal for dinner with the sole purpose of dehydrating the leftovers!

DarenN

Post by DarenN » Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:45 pm

3 1/2 pounds of lean ground beef yeilded just over 1 1/2 of jerky after 8 hours at 160*F.

Daren........

Skidsteer

Post by Skidsteer » Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:52 pm

Dadgummit.

Now I have to go find something to snack on.
Skids