CANISTER "RING OF FIRE"

Post your new stove ideas here! All stoves welcome.
zelph

CANISTER "RING OF FIRE"

Postby zelph » Sat Aug 09, 2008 1:45 pm

This is my first try at a canister stove. Tony's work is inspiring. In 4 years or so I may get good at it. It is challenging and fun. This stove is made from a quart can.

It weighs 44grams (without valve :) )

It is 7/16th thick at it's highest point

I made 1 test boil today just to see how it works.

It boiled 2 cups of water in 9 min.

Don't know how much fuel was used. I was in too much of a hurry to test the flame pattern to get my triple beam out to weigh the canister. Further tests next week will be more in depth. I think the results will be good.

My weekend plans have directed me away from my stove making so I submit what I've got so far. :oops:

"Nothing Ventured Nothing Gained" stove store = http://www.woodgaz-stove.com/

russb

Re: CANISTER "RING OF FIRE"

Postby russb » Sat Aug 09, 2008 2:06 pm

Very nice. What did you use for a valve and to connect the canister to the stove, etc...

zelph

Postby zelph » Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:12 pm

russb wrote:Very nice. What did you use for a valve and to connect the canister to the stove, etc...

I used the valve from the Brunton Remote adaptor stand.

I just did 3 more tests.

2 cups are boiling around 7.5 min average.

Fuel usage is 7.5 grams = 7ml of fuel per boil.

110 grams of fuel per canister equates to 12 meals per. I use 1 cup water per pack of Ramen and 1 cup to make a drink.

I'm still far from finishing my tests. I have different ring designs using different materials. The ring concept is what I'm trying to perfect. It worked great with alcohol and now with canister fuel.

DarenN

Postby DarenN » Sun Aug 10, 2008 10:44 am

i'd like to see more of this new stove, Zelph. connections and attachments? jetting?

Daren.......
Last edited by DarenN on Sun Aug 10, 2008 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"I'd rather be happy than right." Slartibartfast

zelph